18 Techies Scoop Awards at YATA 2015

The inaugural Young Achievers Technology Awards (YATA 2015) lived up to billing as at least 18 individuals and a school walked away with floating trophies, a certificate and a GTel Tablet. The highly anticipated awards recognised the Econet Wireless Founder Mr Strive Masiyiwa with a lifetime achievement award for his tremendous support to the development of ICTs in Zimbabwe. 

The colourful awards ceremony held at Royal Harare Golf Club was fully packed as attendants witnessed the crowning of  Zimbabwe’s most outstanding young tech players for the year 2015.

By TechnoMag Reporter

The event organizer, TechnoMag Chief Executive-cum-Editor In Chief Toneo Tonderai Rutsito said the YATA2015 were conceived out of the need to recognize the youthful technological talents that Zimbabwe has.

He said that the young technology achievers should not be taken for granted as they have the potential to turn around the fortunes of the economy.

TechnoMag CEO Toneo Rutsito

TechnoMag CEO Toneo Rutsito

“We are proud to see these young achievers getting recognized for their efforts in the country’s technological arena. The youths are the future and we are ready to support you, We believe in you so and creating more opportunities and products that speak better to you ” he said.

NetOne CEO Brian Mutandiro

NetOne CEO Brian Mutandiro

TechZim scooped the most consistent online blog with Pardon Gatsi getting the Outstanding Ethical hacker award and Tafadzwa Makura receiving the Most Promising Start-up award.

RoadRules Founder and CEO Tawanda Chikosi won the best app developer commercial as the Best online video content award was scooped by PO Box TV.

Tafadzwa Makura grabbed the Most promising start-up award while David Zinyama got the best graphic designer.


The most influential Facebook Account was award to  iHarare  with 263Chat founder Sir Nigel getting the most influential Twitter Account

See all the pictures here 


Below is the full list of winners.

1.Lifetime achievement award

  • Strive masiyiwa

2.Best app developer commercial

  • Tawanda chikosi

3.Tech entrepreneur of the year

  • Bernard Katsekete

4.Most influencing twitter account

  • SirNigel 263 chat

5.Most influencing facebook account

  • iHarare

6.Most creative online visuals

Nafuna Tv

7.Best E-commerce website

  • 10ngah

8.Most consistent online web/blog

  • Techzim

9.Most sustainable science project of the year

  • Sangulani Maxwell Chikumbuzo saith technologies

10.Best web developer

  • Nerudo Mregi


11.Best animator

  • Bulawayo show `


12.Best graphic designer

  • David Zinyama

13.Most innovative start-up

Itai Lennon

14.Most  promising start up

  • Tafadzwa makura

15.Best online video content

  • P.O box

16.Future spark

  • Gateway robotics students

17.Best online classifieds

  • Sean M Moyo

18.Outstanding ethical hacker

  • Pardon gatsi



SA Rand Transactions Activated with Ecocash Rand Wallet

Previous article

YATA recognizes Masiyiwa

Next article


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *